Alpha Omega History


The Alpha Omega Chapter of Kappa Kappa Psi was installed at the University of Pittsburgh on February 14th, 1948, becoming the forty-eighth chapter of Kappa Kappa Psi. The initiation of 21 members and 1 honorary member was presented by the Eta Chapter from Ohio State University. The installation was presided over by Brother Bernard McGregor, director of the West Virginia University band and counselor of District X of Kappa Kappa Psi.

The 21 founding members are: Earl E Allen Jr, Robert G Anderson, John A Baldinger Jr, George S Brosky, Walter M Edge Jr, William J Farrell, Carl W Feick Jr, William W Focer, John W Hanks, Harry V Herlinger Jr, William M Katz, Earl R Kopsofsky, J Edward Lee, W Creighton McClintock, Charles A Rickmond, Robert H Smith, James J Scannell Jr., Norbert Shanblatt, Murray K Weber, Calvin C Williams, and their director, Robert L Arthur, as an honorary.

In 1978, the Alpha Omega chapter disbanded.


On April 14th, 1996, Alpha Omega was re-installed by the Epsilon Phi chapter from Clarion University.

The Refounding Members:
  • Timothy Keller (Red Line Founder).
  • Jason Lytle (Maroon Line Founder).
  • Jeff Lytle (Hunter Green Line Founder).
  • Scott McConnell (Black Line Founder).
  • Joseph Mills (Silver Line Founder).
  • Joseph Romano (Purple Line Founder).
  • Anthony Roscoe (Kelly Green Line Founder).
  • Tina Eaves (Tan Line Founder).
  • Richard Trouton (White Line Founder).
  • Gregory Wheeler (Gold Line Founder).

    The Honorary members:
  • Robert Vybiral
  • Mark Webb
  • Jeff Farr

    Our Little Brother Chapters:
  • Epsilon Phi at Clarion University (1970).
  • Kappa Rho at Duquesne University (2001).
  • Nu Gamma at Robert Morris University (2012).
  • Nu Zeta at Edinboro University of Pennsylvania (2013).

    Our chapter mascot has been the rubber ducky since the 1996 NED convention at the University of Massachusetts.

    Alpha Omega in the NED

    We are located in the central precinct of the Northeast District of Kappa Kappa Psi. We have hosted precinct convention in 1999, 2007, and 2013.
    We have also hosted NED Convention in 1959, 1971, and 2002.

    Alpha Omega alumni who have served as District Officers:
  • Robert L. Ace Arthur : District XI Governor from 1950 to 1952.
  • Francis Helmeczi : Vice President 1958.
  • Charles Schlotter : Secretary/Treasurer 1970.
  • Ken Finn : President 1973.
  • Anthony Roscoe : Hstorian/Alumni Liaison spring of 1998 and President from 1998 to 1999.
  • Greg Mikolajczyk : President from 1999 to 2000.
  • Jenn Thompkins : Member at Large 2001.

    Alpha Omega and our alumni have won a number of awards, including:
  • Founder′s Trophy : 1999.
  • Chapter Leadership Award : 1997-1999, 1999-2001, and 2005-2007.
  • Distinguished Service to Music Medal:
    1. Robert Ace Arthur for Instrumental Music Education : 1969-1971.
    2. Jack R. Anderson for Marching Band : 2005-2007.
  • A. Frank Martin Award
  • Silver Baton Award

    Dr. Jack B. Anderson ′Doc′ Award

    Every year, Alpha Omega awards the ′Doc′ Award to a non-brother who exemplifies the purpose of Kappa Kappa Psi through leadership and service to the band.
    The award includes an honorary membership to KKΨ.

    Recipients of the ′Doc′ Award:

    Questions about our history? Contact our historian/alumni liaison Brad Munson!